Best Paper Awards

Best Paper Awards are presented annually at the MedGU meetings. Recipients of awards are selected by a dedicated committee of experienced scientific committee members based on the pre-conference evaluation by technical committee members and session chairs during the conference. Awards recognize outstanding works from each Conference Track from the pool of accepted papers presented by authors in the in-person and online sessions. The award evaluation committee selects the best papers based on a number of criteria, including the importance and novelty of any results obtained, technical excellence, and significance to the research community. Other criteria such as innovation and clarity of presentation are also taken into account.

Best Paper Awards MedGU-2021

Abdullah Sukkar: Department of Geomatics Engineering, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
Abhijit Dandekar: University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA
Bikem Ekberzade: Istanbul Technical University, Eurasia Institute of Earth Sciences, Turkey
Brett Isham: Interamerican University of Puerto Rico, Puerto Rico
Emmanuel Daanoba Sunkari: Faculty of Engineering, Niğde Ömer Halisdemir University, Turkey
Evgeny Yakovlev: Federal Center for Integrated Arctic Research, Ural Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
George Zaimes: International Hellenic University, Greece
José Sánchez del Río Sáez: Department of Engineering and Applied Physics, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Kais Ben Abdallah: ESPRIT - ENIT, Tunisia
Korhan Ayranci: King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia
Mohammed Jalal Tazi: Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah University, Faculty of Science and Technology, Morocco
Mustapha Meghraoui: EOST, Institut Terre et Environnement de Strasbourg, Université de Strasbourg, France
Onur Altinay: Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
Piotr Szymczak: University of Warsaw, Poland
Rocío Losada Iglesias: University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Selin Deniz Coskun: University of Manchester, UK
Serpil Aktaş: Faculty of Engineering, Eskisehir Technical University, Turkey
Vahdettin Demir: KTO Karatay University, Turkey
Yeong Bae Seong: Pusan National University, South Korea

Best Paper Awards MedGU-2022

Abhijit Dandekar: University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA
Anas Charbaoui: Geology and Sustainable Mining (GSM), Mohammed VI Polytechnic University, Morocco
Anton Latyshev: Institute of the Physics of the Earth RAS, Russia
Candan Gökçeoğlu: Hacettepe University, Turkey
Chiara Zanotti: Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Daniel Marshall: Simon Fraser University, Canada
Eloi González-Esvertit: Facultat de Ciències de la Terra, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain
Ertug Ercin: R2Water Research and Consultancy, Netherlands
Fabio Goncalves: University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Fatimaezzahra Jadid: FSAC, Hassan II University of Casablanca, Morocco
Gabriel Cofrade: Institut de Recerca Geomodels, Universitat de Barcelona (UB), Spain
Giuseppe Calabrese: International Research School of Planterary Sciences, Università d’Annunzio, Pescara, Italy
Gonzalo Maragaño: Department of Civil Engineering, University of La Frontera, Chile
Ilias Obda: University Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah, FST, Morocco
Issa El-Hussain: Sultan Qaboos University, Oman
Mohamed A.k. El-Ghali: Sultan Qaboos University, Oman
Mutasim Osman: College of Petroleum Engineering and Geosciences, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia
Nhung Le: GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, Potsdam, Germany
Nicolina Bourli: Department of Geology, University of Patras, Greece
Nikos Papadopoulos: GeoSat ReSeArch, IMS-FORTH, Greece
Oana-Elena Chelariu: Institute of Interdisciplinary Research, Alexandru Ioan University of Iasi, Romania
Oula Amrouni: National Institute of Marine Sciences and Technologies, Tunisia
Reginald Kogbara: Texas A&M University at Qatar, Qatar
Sebastian Beil: Institute of Geosciences, Kiel University, Germany
Şenol Çelik: Faculty of Agriculture, Bingöl University, Turkey
Vagia Ioanna Makri: Institute of GeoEnergy, Foundation for Research and Technology - Hellas, Greece
Valentino Straser: UPKL, Italy
Vassilios Pisinaras: Soil & Water Resources Institute, Hellenic Agricultural Organization, Greece
Víctor Tendero-Salmerón: Instituto Andaluz de Ciencias de la Tierra (CSIC-UGR), Spain
Wassim Raphael: Saint Joseph University of Beirut, Lebanon

Best Paper Awards MedGU-2023

Afroz Shah: Universiti of Brunei Darussalam, Brunei
Alessandra Capolupo: Department of Civil, Environmental, Land, Construction and Chemistry (DICATECh), Italy
Alexander Strom: JSC “Hydroproject Institute”, Russia
Anna Trave: Facultat de Ciències de la Terra, Universitat de Barcelona (UB), Spain
Daniele Cheloni: Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Italy
David Corell: University of Valencia, Spain
David Cruset: Geosciences Barcelona, Spain
Dian Kusumawati: Bandung Institute of Technology, Indonesia
Djamil Al-Halbouni: University of Leipzig, Germany
Elamine Nouicer: Ceramics Laboratory, Constantine 1 University, Algeria
Fatima Abou Abbas: Faculty of Agricultural Engineering and Veterinary Medicine, Lebanese University, Lebanon
Francisco Muñoz-Burbano: University of Geneva, Switzerland
Giacomo Di Foggia: University of Milano - Bicocca, Italy
Imen Daly: FST, UTM / CERTE, Tunisia
Jasper Knight: School of Geography, Archaeology & Environmental Studies, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
Marco Bohnhoff: GFZ Potsdam, Germany
Mayang Puspita: Geophysical Engineering Sub-Department, Brawijaya University, Indonesia
Meng Chuan Ong: Universiti Malaysia Terengganu, Malaysia
Mohamed Hedi Negra: University of Tunis El Manar, Faculty of Sciences of Tunis, Tunisia
Muge Albayrak: Faculty of Engineering, Harran University, Turkey
Mustapha Amzil: Faculty of Sciences Ben M’sick, Hassan II University of Casablanca, Morocco
Nivaldo Destro: Petrobras, Brazil
Pedro Ramirez-Perez: Facultat de Ciències de la Terra, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain
Roberto Moretti: Univ. Campania "L. Vanvitelli", Dipartimento di Ingegneria, Italy
Samira Chebba: Department of Process Engineering, Amar Telidji University of Laghouat, Algeria
Sara Essoussi: Polydisciplinary Faculty of Taroudant, Ibnou Zohr University, Morocco
Theodoros Giannaros: National Observatory, Institute for Environmental Research and Sustainable Development, Greece
Vahdettin Demir: KTO Karatay University, Turkey
Vladimir Baranchukov: Vernadsky Institute of Geochemistry & Analytical Chemistry, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia